Home » Copper Queens, Barbra Banda Remain in Running for CAF Awards as Kundananji and Catherine Musonda Miss Out 
Africa Entertainment News Sports

Copper Queens, Barbra Banda Remain in Running for CAF Awards as Kundananji and Catherine Musonda Miss Out 

HAMILTON, NEW ZEALAND - JULY 31: Barbra Banda of Zambia celebrates after scoring her team's second goal from the penalty spot during the FIFA Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023 Group C match between Costa Rica and Zambia at Waikato Stadium on July 31, 2023 in Hamilton, New Zealand. (Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

Barbra Banda and the Copper Queens have made the cut for the final shortlists for the 2023 CAF Awards. 

CAF  announced the shortlists for the women’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023 earlier today.

Banda is part of the ten player shortlist for the player of the year award. 

Banda scored the historical 1000th goal in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup helping Zambia to their first ever win at the global showpiece.

Surprisingly Rachel Kundananji who had an amazing season in Spain and scored the Copper Queens’ third goal in the 3-1 win over Costa Rica at the FIFA Women’s World Cup has been omitted. 

Kundananji scored 25 goals last season for Madrid CFF and was named the breakthrough player of the season in Spanish Liga F

The Copper Queens have also remained in the running for the team of the year accolade.

Goalkeeper Catherine Musonda has failed to make the cut in the goalkeeper of the year category. 

For the Player of the Year, ten players remain in the race for the prestigious individual honour. 

Whereas, the other categories namely Interclub Player of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year and Club of the Year, have five nominees each.

The ultimate winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The Awards Gala will take place on Monday, 11 December 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

  1. Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)
  2. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)
  3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  5. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  6. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  7. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  8. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)
  9. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
  10. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

  1. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)
  2. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  3. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  4. Andile Dlamini (South Africa,Mamelodi Sundowns)
  5. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  2. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)
  5. Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

 Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

  1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  2. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  3. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)
  4. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)
  5. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  1. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)
  2. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  3. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)
  4. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  5. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

  1. Morocco
  2. Nigeria
  3. Senegal
  4. South Africa
  5. Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

  1. Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)
  2. AS FAR (Morocco)
  3. SC Casablanca (Morocco)
  4. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
  5. JKT Queens (Tanzania)

Source: ZamFoot