Home » Third Cohort of African Women Leaders Set to Join Flagship Amujae Initiative
Africa Featured Global News News Politics

Third Cohort of African Women Leaders Set to Join Flagship Amujae Initiative

The Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Presidential Center for Women and Development (EJS Center) has announced the third cohort of African women set to join its flagship program, the Amujae Initiative.

The cohort is made up of 12 women leaders from 10 countries across the African continent. They include current government ministers, members of parliament, senior government advisors, and activists engaged with issues ranging from economic development to gender equality and youth empowerment.

The Amujae Initiative was launched in 2020 by former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf with the aim of inspiring and preparing women to take up roles and excel in the highest echelons of public leadership and, crucially, to bring other women along.

“I am incredibly proud to be welcoming the EJS Center’s third cohort of Amujae Leaders. These 12 women have already demonstrated staggering success over the course of their careers and have the ambition and commitment to enact real change as public leaders. They follow in the footsteps of our first and second cohorts who continued to go from strength to strength and will undoubtedly serve as sisters and supporters as our new leaders embark on their Amujae journey.” Former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf said:

These selected women leaders will build upon the foundations laid by the first two cohorts of Amujae Leaders and will be supported by a distinguished group of Amujae Coaches, including former heads of state and leaders of international institutions, who provide insight and guidance drawn from their invaluable experience in public leadership.

“There is no program like the Amujae Initiative out there, and it fills me with hope that another 12 brilliant African women will be joining the sisterhood to continue their development as public leaders. As an Amujae Leader myself, I know all too well the enriching and joyous journey our third cohort is about to embark on. Their first and second cohort sisters stand ready and waiting to welcome and support them on their own unique leadership journeys.” Interim EJS Center Executive Director, Oley Dibba-Wadda, said.

The Amujae Initiative program focuses on four key objectives including enhancing the capacity and effectiveness of women in public leadership, emboldening women in public leadership to aspire to the highest positions, and strengthen ties among a growing, experienced, and capable network of women public leaders. It also focuses on positively influencing public perception of women’s leadership across Africa. 

Below is the full list of the 2023 cohort of Amujae Leaders consisting of 12 women, all recognized as leaders in their spheres of work.

  1. Hon. Peggy Onkutlwile Serame– Minister of Finance, Botswana
  2. Dr. Grace Ayensu-Danquah– Gender Advocate and Humanitarian Surgeon, Ghana
  3. Ms. Seregbe Keita– Public Policy Analyst and Development Expert, Guinea
  4. Mrs. Sona Traore Sesay– Educator, Policymaker, and Social Justice Leader, Liberia
  5. Hon. Emma Theofelus– Member of Parliament and ICT Deputy Minister, Namibia
  6. Ms. Chipokota Mwanawasa– Policy Advisor to the President, Zambia
  7. Gladys Wanga – Governor of Homa Bay County,Kenya
  8. Cllr. Moriah K.D. Yeakula– Lawyer, Feminist and Political Activist, Liberia
  9. Ms. Fatou Jagne Senghore– Founder of the Center for Women’s Rights and Leadership, The Gambia
  10. Hon. Joyce Chitsulo– Member of Parliament, Mwanza West Constituency, Tanzania
  11. Hon. Joanah Mamombe– Member of Parliament for Harare West Constituency, Zimbabwe
  12. Ms. Chilando Nakalima Chitangala– Mayor of Lusaka, Zambia

Source : Techtrendske